News from the Line

21st April - May Loco Roster Added

25th April - More Corwen Central Pictures added

24th May - June Loco Roster added + more pictures of Corwen

only search Llangollen Railway Website

Coming Events


Friday 21st to Sunday 23rd April - A Day Out With Thomas

Saturday 6th May - Fish & Chip Special

Saturday 13th - Sunday 14th May - Victorian Weekend

Saturday 27th May - Cheese & Wine Train

Saturday 3rd - Sunday 4th June - Heritage Railcar Gala

Saturday 17th June - Real Ale Train

Saturday 1st - Sunday 2nd July - Classic Transport Weekend

Saturday 8th July - Fish & Chip Special

Saturday 22nd - Sunday 23rd July 1960’s Weekend

Thursday 10th - Sunday 13th August - A Day Out With Thomas

Saturday 19th August - Steam and Jazz Train

Saturday 9th September - Real Ale Train


Site Updates

Phase One of the extension of the railway to Dwyrain Corwen East, the temporary platform on the edge of the town is fully operational.


Work on Phase Two - the completion of a further 300 yds of track into a new terminus station, CORWEN CENTRAL, with run around loop is well under way. Fundraising is still required


For more details - see the ‘Corwen Extension page

The auto train on the Corwen Extension during the Steel Steam and Stars III Mega Gala at the end of April 2012

Photo - Mike Martin

45337 in Dwyrain Corwen East platform with the first train into the station.

Photo - George Jones

5199 rolls along the extension to

Dwyrain Corwen East

Photo Martin Gill

Berwyn Chain Bridge  Restoration Project

Restoration of the Chain Bridge over the River Dee at Berwyn is now complete and the bridge is once again open to the public.  The railway have cleared and upgraded the path from the station through the tunnel under the line and down the slope to the bridge.

This now opens up the possibilities for a train ride to Berwyn and a leisurely walk back to Llangollen along the canal; or the other way round. Alternatively, a break of journey at Berwyn to visit the Horseshoe Falls, then back on the train.

Link to a video of Thomas and Goliath going back to the shed after a long and busy day

NEWS UPDATE - A4 Loco - Sir Nigel Gresley’s boiler is at Llangollen Loco Works for overhaul. The boiler arrived in mid November 2016.